When It Rains, It Pours

I am a serial monogamist. I’ve had a boyfriend, in some capacity, since I was 16. It’s not that I’m a dependent person, my friends and family will tell you that I’m ferocious and yet, I’m usually dating someone. Well, not this week my friends, not this week. Instead, I’m dealing with something I’ve affectionately termed, “When it rains, it pours”. In other words, it’s as if all of my exes have suddenly discovered I’m single and have tried to claw their way back into my life.

Normally, people pursuing me isn’t something to complain about but in this case, c’mon, really? There is a reason you and I are not together, why are you doing this to me? I will NOT fall for your tricks! (Fingers are securely crossed and I’m knocking on wood.)

Recently, an ex I dated off and on for several years, long distance mind you, started to email me again after a year plus of no communication.  Well, the emails started easily enough–catching up on what we’ve been up to and sharing old memories. Then, suddenly, he’s talking about visiting me, me visiting him, things turn from funny to flirtatious.  Ladies (and gentlemen), warning lights are blaring. This is dangerous. Well, you’ll be glad to know that I’ve put the parking break on this one. It’s trouble and I’m too tired for trouble.

How come we find ourselves talking to our exes when we know it’s not good? Is it comfort we seek? The ease of the known? Or are our dating skills so poor, we’ve got to go back to the kiddie pool?

J

One thought on “When It Rains, It Pours

  1. I think that it’s totally natural to feel nostalgia for exes. It’s so much easier to fall back into a routine (even if it’s an unhealthy one) than it is to have all new experiences with someone new. Your exes are your history, so it’s easy ans natural to want to go back to that, but not necessairly the best thing for you. Take heed of those warning signs. If things go downhill again – you can’t say that you didn’t warn yourself.

Leave a Reply

