The Phone Game

Have you ever waited to respond to a text message because you didn’t want to answer too quickly? Have you sat by your phone waiting for a phone call instead of just picking up the phone and calling the person?

I find myself playing “the phone game” often. Sometimes I play it because I have to wait several hours to receive a call back or a text message. I constantly find myself getting all worked up when I am waiting for a response. And then when the shoe is on the other foot, I don’t want to seem like I am always reachable and sitting by my phone. So when the person calls/texts I might ignore them for several minutes or hours.

But, in all reality, does the person on the other end realize I’m playing “the game?” Probably not. Because, lets be real, what guy would think that much when receiving/responding to a phone call or text?

So tell me, how do you manage your expectations when it comes to communicating?

Ray

Leave a Reply

