Online Dating

Well, I’ve bitten the bullet. I’ve signed up for online dating. Yikes! I’m terribly nervous about it. As I’ve mentioned before, I’m a traditionalist and do I want my future love to story to start with “we met online”? However, from what I’ve heard, “1 in 5 relationships now start online” so what have I got to lose?

I initially hesitated because I haven’t really given traditional dating tactics a chance yet. I’ve been dating consistently since the end of fall by meeting people through friends or already being friends with them.* However, I’ve never given that whole meet someone cool at a bar situation a try. Or meeting someone in yoga class, painting class or that volunteer event I keep meaning to sign up for. If I haven’t tried the traditional forms of dating, why would I try online dating? Shouldn’t I give it chance first? Heck to the no!

It turns out, online dating is great! I’m having too much fun reading through people’s profiles and messages. I haven’t gone out on my first online date yet but I’m sure the time will come. So far, my favorite message involves me being referred to as a “precious gem”. Who says that?

Any advice for a newbie to online dating? Any first dates do-s or don’t-s?

*I’ll elaborate more in a future post about how to know when guys are done with you.

J

Leave a Reply

