Funny Moments of Life

I recently caught up with a friend who I have not seen in quite a few years. It’s amazing how quickly we can grow and mature. We talked about the different paths we took after college and where that’s lead us. (Technically, it has led us both to DC.)
She has spent the last 3 years working on her relationship with herself. She moved around quite a bit from the east coast to Denver and later to Portland and spent her time finding herself. She told me she worked on figuring how what made her happy, upset, sad, etc. I think that’s an interesting approach–figuring out what makes you tick. I mean, no one is going to love you as much as you love yourself, right?  However, she did mention that the one thing she has neglected is how she works in relationships with other people. Well, my dear, I’ve been working on how I function with other people for years. I’ve been in relationships for such a long time that I know what my emotional triggers are in relationships.
In a bit of a role reversal, in the past year, I’ve been working on myself–learning how to be alone and alive. She has been in a relationship the last half of the year, her first in several years and boy, has this year been a wake up call for the both us. I think we’ll spend the rest of our lives finding a good balance between loving oneself and having others love you.
How do you balance things? Have you learned the way?
J
Leave a Reply

