A Time to Try New Things…Because of Peer Pressure

I am part of our organization’s Worklife Enhancement Committee.  The committee has decided to start a running club which is going to be a place of support and advice sharing.  I wasn’t really sure about joining the group since I don’t really run.  I actually haven’t done any distance running since Junior year in college and that was because my dance team was being punished.

Due to peer pressure from both of my bosses I have signed up for my first 5K.  My Senior Director has elected to sponsor me so now it is time to start training.  I plan to do a couch to 5K program and get my training sessions in before going to work.  I typically ride the elliptical for 20 minutes in the am so instead I will get outside and run (assuming the weather cooperates).  I’d love to get any advice/training programs from you!  So please share 🙂

On a side note: The Penguin is really excited to help me train…but that makes me really nervous.  I have no idea if I will be a good or a bad runner and I definitely don’t want him to see me struggling.  The relationship is too new for me to show weakness!  Wish me luck on this new endeavor.  I’m nervous, but excited all at the same time.

Ray

3 thoughts on “A Time to Try New Things…Because of Peer Pressure

  1. Ray, I am probably the worst runner to get running advise from because I’ve never really adhered to an actual training program (nope, not even when I did a marathon 2 summers ago).

    Here’s my take though; if you’ve been doing an elliptical in the mornings you’re already in fairly good shape when it comes to muscle strength to get you through the running distance. Now, it’s just going to be a matter of building up your endurance for those distances. Which, that’s precisely what you’re doing the Couch to 5k program for.

    However, feel free to ask any specific running questions my way. I’ve been running for about 5 years now; in which I’ve done 1 marathon, 10 Halfs and a multitude of other races and runs along the way.

Leave a Reply

