My Luck has Officially Run Out

For the last few months, I have felt extremely lucky.  It was a combination of things starting with getting to go to the Redskins playoff game, winning a two night stay at a hotel in Old Town, meeting the Penguin, winning my work super bowl pool, etc. etc.

I was in Trinidad & Tobago for the past week.  Part work, part vacation.  I had a good time, just wish it was more vacation less work…but c’est la vie.  On Thursday, I was able to check my email at the hotel in Tobago on their free wireless.  To my dismay, I had an email looming from my lender basically saying we have bad news.  Everything was good to go on my side of things, but the lender also looks at the health of the condo as well and it wasn’t looking good.  The building had too many investor owned units and a lot of delinquent HOA fees.  I was heart broken.  Let’s face it, I am STILL heartbroken.

Everything was going to work out perfectly.  I was supposed to close this Wednesday, start moving some stuff over this week after work and then the big move on Saturday.  That is absolutely NOT going to happen now.  If I choose to use another lender, the best i can hope for is another 2 weeks (if the lender is quick), but in all reality…another 30 days.

My luck has officially run out.  Now I just have to decide/figure out where I’m going to store my stuff…and who gets the lucky job of hosting me when I figure all this out.  Gratefully, I have lots of friends/family in the area…but it makes tears build in my eyes thinking about imposing on someone at this point.  I just don’t see a clear path for me right now and I hate it.  I hate not having a plan.

Will my luck turn around?  I have a feeling that my bad fortunes are because I wasn’t able to get blessed by a Buddhist monk this Thai New Years.  My luck from last April is officially gone 😦

Ray

Leave a Reply

