Going to a Wedding when the Ex is in the Bridal Party

When I accompanied the Penguin to the wedding back over Memorial Day weekend, I was nervous.  I was nervous because I didn’t know anyone and his ex was in the bridal party.  I felt like I was the odd ball out.

She knew everyone, I knew no one.

She had history with the Penguin, I was the new gal.

Overall, it was just fine.  We had no interaction with her till the end of the night when she came over specifically to say hi to us.  The Penguin introduced us, and then they chatted for a few minutes.  The odd thing was, her date was a guy the Penguin plays flag football with.  The Penguin had no idea they were dating and I’m still wondering if she just asked him to the wedding as a friend.  I find it very odd no one on the team would have said something to the Penguin.  Isn’t it bro code to let a dude know you are dating his ex?

I’m interested to hear if any of you have had odd encounters with exes at weddings!  If so, what happened and how did you handle them? My biggest fear was that I would run into her in the bathroom.  At one point, I stayed in the stall a little longer because I knew some of the bridesmaids were in the bathroom…I just didn’t know if she was with them!

Ray

Leave a Reply

