Death in the Office Place

How do you handle when one of your co-workers has a death in the family? Death is such a touchy subject and I know it is hard to comfort others because you just aren’t sure how people want to handle it.

I consider my co-worker to be one of my closest friends at the office, but for some reason it feels odd to jump up and give her a hug to console her.  Granted, I’m not a huger and she has a weird phobia of germs so I was at a loss when she came by my office to tell me the news.  I just sat in my chair, said how sorry I was and told her to let me know if I could do anything.  Its awkward and tough, but what else is one supposed to do?

Ray

Leave a Reply

