Public Transportation Ettiquette

I have been doing the public transportation thing for 5 months now and have noticed a few things that I can’t seem to wrap my brain around.

1.  Music blaring from headphones- doesn’t it hurt your ears?  If I can hear it, you sure as crap can hear it!!!!!  Then I wonder, do they know everyone can hear their music?   Is my music that loud?

2.  Cell phone conversations….don’t have an extended conversation on your cell phone within a confined space.  I get it you might need to have a quick few minute chat, but is it necessary to talk on the phone from the minute you get on the bus until you get off?  I wouldn’t care so much if the bus wasn’t packed, but you are sitting right next to me so I can hear your whole conversation.

3.  School groups who take the metro during rush hour.  They don’t belong on the metro at that time and they take up a whole lot of space, don’t know how to hold on or get out of the way when people are getting on/off the train.

4.  Overall, I do find most people are very good about standing on the right and walking on the left when it comes to the escalators.  And most people are decent about getting onto the train and moving in to allow everyone to jam themselves into the car.

I have found the need to break down and by rain boots.  I also bought a pair of waterproof ballet flats that I am excited to try out!  I cannot wait until they arrive.  We most likely won’t have rain in the forecast for the foreseeable future now that I am fully prepared to brave the elements.

Ray

 

Leave a Reply

