New Schedule Because of a New Addition

I’ve finally started to work out again this week.  I decided trying to fit in a workout after work wasn’t happening.  If I had a miserable commute, I had no desire to then workout and make dinner.  I could only muster the energy to do one of those things and food always won out over exercise.  In addition to waking up early to get my fitness on, I’ve also added two morning walks to my routine because of this cutie!

photo

The Penguin and I adopted a pet from the Washington Humane Society. I’ve been wanting to get a dog of my own for a long time and when I saw WHS was offering $10 adoptions, I just couldn’t pass this cutie up!  We have had her for a week and she is obviously still adjusting, but I just love her.  I can’t wait to get home at night to play with her and cuddle up next to her.

I know I have mentioned that owning a pet is like having a child.  The responsibility is huge and your life changes because of needing to let out and feed another thing, but we are ready for the challenge.  She seems to be perfectly content sleeping all day, but is ready to go whenever we pull the leash out.  She is calm in the car and likes to sniff new dogs. She doesn’t really know how to play with them so we are going to work on that with some puppy play dates/dog park excursions.

I am so excited to have her as a part of our family and I can’t wait to share more dog stories with you!

Ray

3 thoughts on “New Schedule Because of a New Addition

  1. First off…kudos and thank you for going to a shelter (not to sound like a crazy “down with puppy mills” sort of people). Just something I’m passionate about in a non-psycho sort of way.

    Second…I used to be uber-disciplined but now I find myself falling for the allure of sleep. Any advice on how you’ve motivated yourself to get up before work to exercise without succumbing to the voices saying, “You can get 1 more hour of sleep if you don’t exercise.”

    I know once I keep the routine for a few weeks it’ll be easier, but for whatever reason I’m finding it difficult to get up.

    • Thanks 🙂 I truly believe in adoption too.

      My issue isn’t the needing more sleep. It is once I get up, get dressed and start working out…I have a hard time pushing myself. I’m just a little lazy in the am. I haven’t gotten past that yet (hence my responding to your message now instead of working out). So I’m not sure what advice to offer you, but it helps me when I know I won’t be able to work out in the afternoon. When it’s my only chance, my brain is easier to motivate.

      Good luck! And let me know if anything starts working for you.

      • Don’t know if this counts as “working for me”, but the cat enjoys repeatedly hitting me in the head after my alarm has gone off. It’s gotten me out of bed a few times.

Leave a Reply

