Feeling Alone at Work

It has finally hit me that I do not have friends at work.  It’s starting to get a little sad and lonely.  I have no one to confide in or complain to.  I miss my friends from my old jobs.  I just keep reminding myself that I will make friends!  It is still early and it basically took me going to my first annual meeting at each job to form bonds with people.

My annual meeting here isn’t till November so I hope I might form some bonds before that, but we shall see.  I have a site visit in July which 6 staff members are going on so there could be some good bonding time then!  BUt right now I sit in my office, eating my lunch, writing blog posts.  Sad panda.

The thing that hurt the most was when my colleague (who works for me) asked if I was going to “this lunch thing.”  I responded, “no…what lunch thing?”  His response was, “Oh, that’s awkward, never mind” and he walked away.  I never figured it out.  It wasn’t on anyone’s calendar and it could have been a good bye lunch for someone’s last day, but it definitely made everything that much sadder.

There is a bright side…I got invited to dinner next week when some offsite co-workers are in town.  So that should be fun!  I might make friends after all 🙂

Ray

Leave a Reply

