Car-less

I sold my car last weekend.  It was time, but I didn’t realize how emotional I would be about finally taking the plunge.  I have had that car for almost 10 years!  Now I have nothing….well, I have the Penguin’s car.  I really want to avoid using his car because I feel like he might hold it against me in the end.  He is paying a car payment and insurance and has joked about me contributing, but if that is required I will continue to rely on public transportation.

I pretty much use public transportation 90% of my life.  To/from work…to/from dinners…I only put a couple hundred miles on my car since January.  It just wasn’t necessary to have it anymore.  The Penguin was typically driving on the weekends for errands and such.  He likes to drive and I hate it, so it just made sense.

I simply keep reassuring myself that I can rent a car, use Zip car, borrow a family members car or buy a new car if this doesn’t work out!  My car was started to have issues anyways so it seemed like the perfect time.  I sold it at Carmax.  Got exactly what I was hoping for and the process was super easy/stress free.

It feels good, but weird.

Ray

Leave a Reply

