Friends within the Villages

I live in an area that has a TON of residential units!  My building has 6 units while my little courtyard area probably has 20 total units.  I have made NO friends within my courtyard. Yes, I know some people by first name, but that is about it.  I just met one person that has been living within my building for over 2 years and when he asked how long I’d been there he was shocked it had almost been a year.  A full year of not meeting someone within my building seems crazy to me.

I really wish I had friends within my complex.  I keep telling myself to go to the monthly meetings or join a committee, but that hasn’t happened yet.  Maybe soon!

I do meet a lot of people walking the dog, but no friendships have been formed.  The great thing that happened recently was realizing one of Jeff’s friend of a friend lives literally 2 blocks from us.  We have now become pool buddies and Sunday dinner friends.  It is really a great feeling to have someone so close!  I envision great fun being had with this new group of friends!  I just still wish I could form some other bonds with people within the community.

Any suggestions on how to do that for an introvert like myself?

Ray

Leave a Reply

