My Fears Around Being a Boss

When I started my new job, I became a boss.  I actually had someone reporting to me two jobs ago, but this seems different.  This time, I am running my own department.  I’m the head of the department with no one to go to except my CEO.  It was scary, but exciting all at the same time.

I’ve strived to be a good boss, someone that my employees appreciate in hopes that they won’t quit and go somewhere else.  One of the things my CEO stressed when I took the job was finding a way to keep my two employees happy and a part of the team.  I’m thinking about this more and more as the year is coming to a close because we will be having evaluations soon.

I hope my staff feel like they can discuss their roles and future freely with me.  Now that we have gone through an annual meeting together, I feel as if we have bonded which I believe helps in the communication.  I do feel as though I might need to grow some balls in order to communicate some of my feelings better.  Being a boss is tough!  I can’t be everyones best friend, but I sure do hope everyone likes me or at least isn’t talking a bunch of shit behind my back!!!!

Ray

Leave a Reply

